The Portuguese alphabet consists of 26 letters (21 consonants and 5 vowels).

A   B   C   D   E   F   G   H   I   J   K   L   M   N   O   P   Q   R   S   T   U   V   W   X   Y   Z

The letters K, W and Y belong to the Portuguese alphabet since the beginning of 2009. They are used in names (Wagner, Wilson, Yara, Amaury) or with international terms (kg, km, watt, etc.).

It is important to know how to pronounce the alphabet as sometimes you have to spell your name or ask people to spell something for you.